Nominee Bios 2015 for
Auburn University Senate
Rules Committee
[term 2015–17]

Eduardus Duin, Chemistry

Eduardus (Evert) Duin is an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He has been a faculty member since 2002. He is teaching chemistry and biochemistry classes and is doing research on metalloenzymes involved in methane capture and biofuels synthesis and on enzymes in the isoprene pathways as targets for new antibiotics. He has served as a University Senator since 2009. Other committees: University Senate Rules Committee (2010–2012), Library Committee (2011–2014), COSAM Dean’s Research and Research Awards Committee (2011–present), COSAM Associate Dean Position Search Committee (2014).

Jada Kohlmeier, Curriculum & Teaching

Jada Kohlmeier is an associate professor of secondary social sciences education in the Department of Curriculum and Teaching, College of Education. Jada joined the AU faculty in 2003 after teaching public school for 10 years in Kansas and earning her Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. Her research interests involve exploring preservice and inservice teachers use of problem-based inquiry and ethical reasoning in the teaching of the social sciences and history. This research coordinates with outreach professional development projects using video cases and scaffolded lesson study to develop inservice teachers professional teaching knowledge. Jada served on the University Curriculum Committee from 2006–2009 and joined the faculty senate in 2012. She chairs the College of Education Awards Committee and co-chairs the sponsorship of the Kappa Delta Pi honor society for the college. In her department, she is a member of the research and assessment committee, the graduate studies committee, and chairs two mentoring committees for pre-tenured faculty.

Daniel Mackwoski, Mechanical Engineering

Daniel Mackowski has been a faculty member of the Mechanical Engineering department since 1990 and currently holds the rank of professor. He has served two terms as the faculty senate representative for the department, and has also served on the university curriculum and budget advisory committees. He was a member of the sustainability initiative task force and contributed to the development of the sustainability studies undergraduate minor. He has taught the energy-related courses in the department and the college of engineering curriculum, as well as the Human Odyssey courses in the university core curriculum.         


Last Updated:February 16, 2015

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4000 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©