Nominee Bios 2014 for
Auburn University Senate
Rules Committee

Peter A. Stanwick

Dr. Peter A. Stanwick is an associate professor in the Department of Management at the Raymond J. Harbert College of Business. Dr. Stanwick received his Ph.D. from Florida State University and has been at Auburn University for over 22 years. He is currently serving his second term as senator. He serves as the Harbert College of Business faculty advisor for the Dale P. Jones Business Ethics Competition, on the Harbert College of Business Graduate Programs Committee and on the Budget Committee. In addition, Dr. Stanwick is also the Harbert College of Business faculty advisor for the Auburn University’s War on Hunger Committee. He has served on numerous University committees including the Graduate Council, the Environmental Institute Board and the Academic Program Review Committee. His teaching and research interests include corporate governance; business ethics; strategic management; and environmental issues. He is the co-author of the second edition of the textbook “Understanding Business Ethics,” published by Sage Publications.

Emily Myers

Emily W. Myers is an associate clinical professor in the Social Work Program within the Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work within the College of Liberal Arts. She received her MSW from Louisiana State University and has been at Auburn University for over 26 years. She is currently serving her second term as senator. She has served on a variety of University and College committees, including the University Academic Program Review Committee, the Statewide Articulation committee, the advisory board for the Auburn Recovery Committee, the executive board of the Women’s Resource Center and the Multicultural Diversity Commission. She has long been involved in interdisciplinary service learning and civic engagement activities within her coursework. Her teaching and practice interests include community organization, aging, addictions and adoptions. 

Russell (Rusty) A. Wright

Dr. Russell (Rusty) A. Wright is an associate professor and extension specialist in the School of Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences. He joined the faculty here in 1997 after completing his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin – Madison. In addition to being senator since 2010 and to service on the Faculty Handbook Committee, he’s served on numerous departmental curriculum and promotion and tenure committees and on eight graduate research fellowship review panels for the National Science Foundation. He also has served on the Science Advisory Committee of the Mobile Bay National Estuary Program and as team coordinator for the Alabama Cooperative Extension System program in aquatic resources, providing leadership across the state on matters of aquaculture, fisheries, water quality management and coastal and marine resources.

Vicky van Santen

Dr. Vicky van Santen has been on the faculty at Auburn University since 1988 and is a professor in the Department of Pathobiology in the College of Veterinary Medicine, where she conducts basic research on viruses important to the poultry industry and teaches graduate courses in molecular biology and molecular virology. She has served as senator since 2010 and is currently serving a one-year term on the Rules Committee. Dr. van Santen also serves on the College of Veterinary Medicine Faculty Advisory Committee, chairs the Auburn University interdisciplinary Cell and Molecular Biology Program Graduate Student Affairs Committee, and has served on the Auburn University Bicycle Committee.

Robert Cochran

Robert H. (Bob) Cochran is a lecturer in the School of Accountancy of the Harbert College of Business where he teaches business law, advanced business law, aviation law and Introduction to Aviation. He has been on the faculty since 2005. He received his bachelor’s degree in accounting from Auburn University, his master’s degree in management from Webster College and his JD in law from the Cumberland School of Law of Samford University. He has been a Senator for two years, has completed one term as a member of the Rules Committee, has served on the University Writing Committee, and has served on numerous departmental committees.

Last Updated:February 12, 2014

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4000 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©