Graduate School Dean Addresses Summer, 2010 Phi Kappa Phi Initiation

Dr. George T. Flowers, Dean of the Graduate School at Auburn University and member of Phi Kappa Phi, addressed the Summer, 2010 Phi Kappa Phi initiates on July 29, 2010. Dr. Flowers has served as Dean of the Graduate School since 2008. He is also a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and has received the department’s Outstanding Faculty Member Award. His research interests include vibration analysis and testing of electronic systems and dynamics, vibration, and control of rotating machinery. He is the author of numerous publications and owner of several patents.

Twenty nine junior students were initiated into Phi Kappa Phi during the summer ceremony. In addition, 25 graduating seniors and 22 graduate students were initiated. Membership in the Auburn chapter of Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only and is based on superior scholastic achievement as measured by the student’s cumulative earned grade point average, satisfactory progress toward degree objective, and demonstrated concern for the promotion of excellence. Graduating seniors must be within the top 5% of their class.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. It promotes the pursuit of excellence in all fields of higher education; recognized outstanding achievement by students, faculty, and others through election to membership and through various awards for distinguished achievement; and engages the community of scholars in service to others.

The Auburn University chapter was established in 1914 and initiates more than 400 members annually. Membership is open to qualified scholars with integrity and high ethical standards from all academic disciplines.