Students recognized by Phi Kappa Phi (Spring 2010 Initiation)

One hundred and twenty nine junior students were inducted into the Auburn University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi on Thursday, April 29, 2010. In addition, 75 graduating seniors, 21 professional students, and 60 graduate students were also initiated.

Phi Kappa Phi’s Most Outstanding Senior Scholar Award was presented to Daniel Mazzaferro from the College of Sciences and Mathematics. This award is given annually to the most outstanding senior student at Auburn. Criteria include scholarship, activities, and character. A student must have a minimum grade point average of 3.699. Daniel Mazzaferro also received the Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship Award. This award is presented to a graduating senior who will enter the first year of graduate or professional studies.

The Susan Stacey Entrenkin Yates Scholastic Achievement Award was presented to David M. Harris, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering; Rebecca S. Sollie, College of Sciences and Mathematics; and Cole H. Sterling, College of Sciences and Mathematics. The Yates award is presented annually to outstanding junior students at Auburn University. These awards are named in memory of the mother of Mr. S. Blake Yates, a long-time member of the Auburn chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. Criteria for selection include scholarship, activities, and character. The nominated student must have completed a minimum of 61 earned hours by the end of the previous semester and have a minimum grade point average of 3.699.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. It promotes the pursuit of excellence in all fields of higher education; recognized outstanding achievement by students, faculty, and others through election to membership and through various awards for distinguished achievement; and engages the community of scholars in service to others.

The Auburn University chapter was established in 1914 and initiates more than 400 members annually. Membership is open to qualified scholars with integrity and high ethical standards from all academic disciplines.