Hendricks, Relihan, and students recognized by Phi Kappa Phi

Hendricks and RelihanProfessor Constance Hendricks of the School of Nursing (pictured on left) and Senior Associate Dean Constance Relihan of the College of Liberal Arts (pictured on right) and 136 students were initiated into the Auburn University Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi during its Fall 2010 Initiation and Awards Ceremony.

Constance Smith Hendricks, a Charles W. Barkley Endowed Professor in the School of Nursing, is well known for her mid-range health promotion empowerment model, numerous publications, and instrumentation development. Dr. Hendricks received her PhD from Boston College and was selected as the 2007 UAB Distinguished Alumna for the School of Nursing and the 2007 Mary T. Boynton Distinguished Lecturer at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville College of Nursing. Dr. Hendricks served as Chair of the Graduate Nursing Department where she started the state’s first PhD in Nursing. She also served as Dean of the School of Nursing at Hampton University for three years. Hendricks’ current research is focused on promoting an optimal quality of life for the citizenry by fostering health promotion lifestyle choices across the lifespan.

Constance C. Relihan, Senior Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and a Hargis Professor of English, is known for her outstanding leadership in the College of Liberal Arts and numerous publications focusing on Renaissance English literature, literary criticism and theory. Associate Dean Relihan joined the Auburn faculty in 1990 and assumed the position of associate dean for academic affairs in 2004. As Senior Associate Dean, Dr. Relihan has worked with faculty, advisors, and staff on undergraduate student issues, curricula, and advising. Relihan received her PhD from the University of Minnesota and was named an Auburn University SECAC fellow for 2010-2011. Her latest book is Cosmographical Glasses: Geographic Discourse, Gender, and Elizabethan Fiction.

In addition, Phi Kappa presented Outstanding First Year Student Scholastic Awards to 61 students, Outstanding Second Year Scholastic Awards to 18 students, and First Professional Years Awards to 8 students.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897, is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. It promotes the pursuit of excellence in all fields of higher education; recognized outstanding achievement by students, faculty, and others through election to membership and through various awards for distinguished achievement; and engages the community of scholars in service to others.

The Auburn University chapter was established in 1914 and initiates more than 400 members annually. Membership is open to qualified scholars with integrity and high ethical standards from all academic disciplines.