Auburn University
Title Image
Academic Departments Student Services Alumni Research Outreach Diversity
Auburn University

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) 



The LSAMP program is aimed at increasing the quality and quantity of students’ success in completing science, technology, engineering and mathematics baccalaureate degree programs.   Another aim is to increase the number of students interested in, academically qualified for and matriculated into programs of graduate study.  LSAMP supports sustained and comprehensive approaches that facilitate achievement of the long-term goal of increasing the number of students who earn doctorates in STEM fields, particularly those from populations underrepresented in the STEM fields.  The program goals are accomplished through formation of alliances. Our program operates under the Alabama LSAMP which consists of Alabama A&M University, Alabama State University, Auburn University, Miles College, Oakwood College, Stillman College, Talladega College, Tougaloo College, Tuskegee University, University of Alabama, University of Alabama-Birmingham, and University of Alabama-Huntsville.  The alliances work in three phases. In Phase I emphasis is placed on aggregate baccalaureate production.  Phase II focuses on attention to individual student retention and progression to baccalaureate degrees. Finally. Phase III awards augment the Phase I and Phase II with attention to aggregate student progression to graduate school entry. 



Dr. Velma Becton Richardson, Associate Dean
Office for Diversity and
Multicultural Affairs
College of Sciences and Mathematics
Science Center

315 Roosevelt Concourse

Auburn University , AL
AL 36849-5319

Phone: 334-844-4247
Fax: 334-844-4661