Auburn University
Academic Departments Student Services Alumni Research Outreach Diversity
Auburn University



Halanych and 2 students receive COSAM Dean’s Research Awards

Ken Halanych

Dr. Ken Halanych, Professor, was selected as the Dean’s 2009-2010 Outstanding Faculty Member. The award recognizes Dr. Halanych’s vigorous and internationally recognized research program in invertebrate systematics. Also recognized in the department was Sean Graham, a PhD student working with Dr. Craig Guyer, who received the Outstanding PhD Student research award, and Michael Alcorn, a Zoology major also working with Dr. Guyer who received the Outstanding Undergraduate Student research award. Awardees will be honored at the COSAM awards ceremony in Spring Semester 2010.


Biological Sciences wins COSAM Faculty-Staff Campaign Crown

Jack Feminella with CrownThe University's 2009 Faculty-Staff Campaign (designed to raise funds for University programs and inspire alumni donations) included a new competition within COSAM this year: the COSAM department with the highest participation in the Campaign would be awarded a crown by the Dean. Biological Sciences won, with 75% participation! This photo shows our department chair (Dr. Feminella) wearing the crown while working in his office. The crown will be kept by our department until next year's campaign, when it will be won by the department with highest participation in 2010.


Faculty Win Numerous Awards


Mary MendoncaMendonca selected Alumni Professor, Leischuck Presidential Awardee

Dr. Mary Mendonça, Professor and Graduate Program Officer in the department, was selected as one of 25 Alumni Professors recognized by the AU Alumni Association for noteworthy contributions to AU’s academic program.

Dr. Mendonca was also selected as one of two Gerald and Emily Leischuck Endowed Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching Awardees. This award, the most prestigious on campus, recognizes exemplary contributions to Auburn's teaching program. Dr. Mendonca is the third departmental recipient of this award in the last 5 years: she joins past awardees Dr. Roland Dute and Dr. Bob Lishak.




Robert BoydBoyd and Janosik receive COSAM awards

Dr. Robert Boyd, Professor in the department, was selected as COSAM’s Outstanding Advisor for 2008-2009. Ms. Alexis Janosik, Ph.D. student in Dr. Ken Halanych’s lab, has been selected one of COSAM’s Outstanding GTAs for 2008-2009.




Mark LilesGeoff HillLiles and Hill receive Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award

Dr. Mark Liles, Assistant Professor, and Dr. Geoff Hill, Professor, were both selected as Outstanding Graduate Mentors for 2008-2009 by the AU Graduate School.





Cathy McVayMcVay gets SGA teaching award

Dr. Cathy McVay, Laboratory Coordinator, was named this year’s COSAM Outstanding Teacher by the AU Student Government Association (SGA).





Roland DuteDute chosen AED’s professor of the year

Dr. Roland Dute, Professor, was selected as Professor of the Year by AU’s Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED) chapter. The AED is an honorary society for pre-health students.

Larry WitWit gives AU’s “Final Lecture”

Dr. Larry Wit, Professor and COSAM’s Associate Dean for Instruction, was selected to give this year’s “The Final Lecture.” This event allows the Class of 2009 to recognize Dr. Wit as the professor they feel is the most outstanding teacher at Auburn University.




Dr. Jack FeminellaFeminella wins COSAM Outreach Award

Dr. Jack Feminella, Professor and Chair of the department since Fall 2008, was recipient of the 2008-2009 COSAM Dean's Outreach Award.