Unit Information

Unit Information


Detachment 005 has a Cadre staff of five active duty members which consists of a Detachment Commander who is also the Professor of Aerospace Studies (PAS), three officers who are Assistant Professors of Aerospace Studies (APAS), a Personnel Noncommissioned Officer-In-Charge (NCOIC) and a Knowledge Operator Noncommissioned Officer.

Meet the Det 005 Cadre:  Lt Col Jeffrey Hemmes, Maj Jeff Owens, Capt Ross Stanley, TSgt Diane Taylor, and Ms. Daffny Pierce.


Detachment Commander's Biography




We are located at the corner of N. Thach Street and S. Donahue Drive in the Nichols Center on the Auburn University campus, one block north of Jordan Hare Stadium.  The administrative offices for the detachment are located on the second floor of the Nichols Center in the Air Force office.

    • AFROTC Det 005
      Nichols Center, Room 243
      Auburn, AL 36849
      Phone: (334) 844-4355
      Email: det005@maxwell.af.mil

The Nichols Center

The Nichols Center is the home to the Air Force, Army and Naval ROTC programs.  The building was constructed in 1986 in memory of the Honorable William F. Nichols, Auburn University Alumni and a former United States Congressman.  The building is 32,158 square feet and hosts all ROTC administrative offices and classrooms on campus.


Auburn/Det 005 History


Welcome to Auburn University AFROTC, Det 005! Auburn University has a dynamic and proud history.  The university was established in 1856 as the East Alabama Male College, 20 years after the founding of the City of Auburn; the Reverend William J. Sasnett was the first president of the institution.  The university was subsequently closed during the Civil War, in 1861, was re-opened in 1866.


In 1872, under the Morrill Act, Auburn became the first land-grant college in the South and was renamed the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama. Then in 1899 the name again was changed to the Alabama Polytechnic Institute (API). The curriculum at the university originally focused on arts and agriculture. This trend changed under the guidance of Dr. William Leroy Broun, who taught classics and sciences.  Dr. Broun, who had been educated in the classics and sciences, believed that both disciplines were important in education.  Auburn's official title was changed to Alabama Polytechnic Institute largely because of Dr. Broun's beliefs in placing a scientific emphasis on the liberal arts tradition.


The nation’s Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) began in the as early as 1916 with the passage of the National Defense Act; it was charged to increase "preparedness" prior to the American entry into World War I.  One of the provisions of this act was the creation of a Reserve Officers' Training Corps in colleges and universities across the nation.  During the WWII, API trained U.S. military personnel on campus; between 1941 and 1945, Auburn produced over 32,000 troops for the war effort. Following the end of World War II, API, like many colleges around the country, experienced a period of massive growth caused by returning military personnel taking advantage of their GI Bill offer of free education. In the five-year period following the end of the war, enrollment at API more than doubled.


The API expansion continued, and in 1960 the name of the school was changed to Auburn University, which was more in keeping with its location, and expressing the varied academic programs and larger curriculum of a major university. Today, Auburn University is one of the largest universities in the South, remaining at the educational forefront with our emphasis on a blend of arts and applied sciences. The University continuously changes to accommodate today's needs, while still respecting the traditions and spirit of Auburn.  As we grow and change, Auburn will always continue its tradition of excellence.


AFROTC Det 005 also has a proud heritage.  Several influential Air Force leaders are Auburn University alumni including:  Major General Gerald Prather (class of 1956) who served as Commander of the Air Force Communications Command,  General Jimmy Adams (class of 1957) who served as Commander in Chief, Pacific Air Forces, Major General Theodore Mallory III (class of 1965) who served as Air National Guard Assistant to the Commander, Air Education and Training Command, Lt General Leslie Kenne (class of 1971) who served as Deputy Chief of Staff for Warfighting Integration at HQ USAF,  and Major General James Stewart (class of 1977) who is presently serving as Military Executive Officer, Reserve Forces Policy Board for the Office of the Secretary of Defense; finally, AFROTC Det 005 is also proud of Lt Col Ronald Mumm, who served as Commander/Leader of the USAF’s elite Air Demonstration Squadron, The Air Force Thunderbirds from 1996-1997. 


Auburn University AFROTC Detachment 005 has also been a recognized leader amongst AFROTC programs.  The detachment has been recognized by the HQ AFROTC South East Region as the 2011 Large Unit High Flight Winner, the Air Force Association (Chapter 102) as the Nancy Zehrer Memorial Award to an Outstanding AFROTC Detachment for nine consecutive years, and the AFROTC Gama Cup Champions for three consecutive years.


Last Updated: Dec. 01, 2014

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4355 |
AU Privacy | AFROTC Privacy | Copyright ©