Strategic Budgeting Initiative

Auburn University’s strategic plan establishes priorities for promoting student and faculty success, while enhancing our contributions to knowledge and the public good through research, scholarship, creative work and programs of engagement and extension. To achieve these priorities, the plan also establishes a commitment to focus resources on Auburn’s mission and priorities.

The Strategic Budgeting Initiative is a process designed to accomplish that strategic focus today–and to assure that Auburn has financial plans that will remain responsive to its mission and evolving strategy in the future.

The Strategic Budgeting Initiative is being led by Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Tim Boosinger and Executive Vice President Don Large, working with a broadly representative Steering Committee and supported by external consultants from Huron Education. The Steering Committee was convened in early 2013. During an exploratory phase of the initiative, they worked to understand how funds flow in Auburn’s current budget model. During the current phase, lasting 12 weeks, they are working to build campus understanding of budget models in higher education and of what incentives might be set in place to improve alignment between financial investments and strategic priorities.

Documents associated with the Strategic Budget Initiative will be posted at this site as they become available. Currently available are the following:

Strategic Budgeting Initiative Steering Committee


  • Timothy R. Boosinger, Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, Co-Chair

  • Donald L. Large, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Co-Chair

  • Joseph A. Aistrup, Dean, College of Liberal Arts*

  • William D. Batchelor, Dean, College of Agriculture and Director, Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station

  • Bill Hardgrave, Dean, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business

  • Bonnie MacEwan, Dean, Auburn University Libraries

  • Betty Lou Whitford, Dean, College of Education

  • Barry Burkhart, Professor, Department of Psychology*

  • Beverly B. Marshall, Associate Professor, Department of Finance

  • Jenny Barton, Special Assistant to the Provost for Budget Management

  • Drew Clark, Director, Institutional Research and Assessment

  • Marcie Smith, Associate Vice-President for Business and Finance

* Added to Steering Committee, Fall 2013


Last Updated: November 25, 2013