HSOP Initiates 33 Into Rho Chi Society

Rho Chi group photo

September 12, 2018

AUBURN, Alabama – Thirty-three students were inducted into the Zeta Chapter of the Rho Chi Pharmacy Honor Society on Tuesday, September 11. The initiation ceremony was held in the Walker Building at the Harrison School of Pharmacy.

RELATED: Photos from the Rho Chi Ceremony

Dr. Spencer Durham, assistant clinical professor in the Harrison School of Pharmacy’s Department of Pharmacy Practice, served as the keynote speaker. A member of Rho Chi, she graduated from HSOP in 2007. The initiation was administered by Paul Jungnickel, the chapter faculty advisor and associate dean of academic and student affairs at HSOP, along with current chapter president Shelby Lawrence and members Lauren Wright, Melanie Whitmore and Jillian Davis.

Of the 33 initiated, 28 are Pharm.D. students while the remaining five are graduate students. Those initiated were:

  • Brittany Allums
  • Adam Archer
  • Jacob Patrick Calahan
  • Kaitlyn Hollon Claybrook
  • Carlin Moon DeHoop
  • Dillon G. Hamilton
  • Benjamin Harding
  • Ruth Jeminiwa
  • Nate Johnson
  • Ahmad Kader
  • Nicholas Liberto
  • Rachel Luckie
  • Jenneca Mahesh
  • Kyle Bartley Manning
  • William George Medawar
  • James David Miracle
  • Youssef Mousa
  • Mohammed Zahid Nasrullah
  • Carl Kenneth Okerberg
  • Savan Patel
  • Hayden Payne
  • Emily Kaye Peel
  • Sweilem Baseem Rihani
  • Savannah Rodriguez-Feo
  • Sharay Elizabeth Setti
  • Samantha Paige Sloan
  • Hannah Smith
  • Claire Stauter
  • Lauren Tepool
  • Alaina Noel Thomas
  • Michelle Therese Uichanco
  • Amber Marie Usrey
  • Lexi Wilkinson

Founded in 1922, Rho Chi is an international honor society for pharmaceutical sciences that seeks to advance pharmacy through intellectual leadership. To be invited to join, students must rank in the top 20 percent of their class, have a minimum GPA of 3.0, have not been disciplined for violations of academic integrity or professional standards, and must be elected by a vote of the current chapter members. Auburn’s Zeta Chapter was established in 1925 as the sixth Rho Chi chapter in the country.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: September 12, 2018