Three Selected to APA Hall of Fame

APA logo

July 26, 2018

AUBURN, Alabama – Harrison School of Pharmacy alums Clemont Carpenter and Danny Johnson, along with former faculty member George Hargreaves, were inducted into the Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame at the Alabama Pharmacy Association’s (APA) 137th Annual Convention, held at the Grand Hotel Marriott Resort in Point Clear, Alabama.

Clemont Carpenter | Danny Johnson | George Hargreaves

Charlie Thomas presents award to Clemont Carpenter
Charlie Thomas (left) welcomes Clemont Carpenter to the Hall of Fame

Clemont Carpenter
Clement Carpenter, a native of Luverne, Alabama, received his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Auburn University in 1954. An Air Force veteran, he and his wife Jean, the daughter of a pharmacist, had four sons and a daughter, three of which received pharmacy degrees from Auburn.

Carpenter’s first job was at Prattville Drug in 1955 and he later bought a pharmacy in Luverne where he continues to this day to practice pharmacy full-time with his sons.

In 1964, he was elected to the Luverne City Council and served as mayor for twelve years. Over 30 years of membership in the Luverne Rotary Club, including a term as president, is an example of how much Carpenter values service to his community. Through the years, he has been Cub Scout Master, member of the school board, member of the executive committee for the Alabama League of Municipalities, member of the board of directors for the Southeast Alabama Gas District, chairman of the board of directors for Luverne Bank and Trust Company and has held many offices for the Luverne United Methodist Church.

Service for his profession was also important with Carpenter serving on the APA Board in many positions. In 1986, he was appointed by Governor George Wallace to a five-year term on the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy, which he proudly completed including a year as president. He also established the Crenshaw County Pharmaceutical Association, serving as president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer.

“There is no doubt about Clemont’s dedication to serving others,” said Louise Jones, APA executive director. “His many years of service to his community and numerous leadership positions have had a great impact on our profession. APA is happy to recognize his work through his induction into the Hall of Fame.”

His honors include the Bowl of Hygeia Award in 1995. In 2016 APA recognized Foster Drug Company for more than 100 years of dedicated service to the community and Carpenter for 60 years of hard work and loyal service to his patients and community, exemplifying the highest ideals of the pharmacy profession.

Danny Johnson and Anthony Brooklere hold the award
Danny Johnson (left) is welcomed to the Hall of Fame by Anthony Brooklere.

Danny Johnson
Danny Johnson was born in Millport Alabama but grew up outside of Birmingham in Hueytown. Johnson earned his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Auburn in 1972 and married the former Marcia Keith in 1975. Together, they had two sons, Jared and Jacob, who are both Harrison School of Pharmacy graduates.

Upon graduation, Johnson returned to his hometown and took a position at Weldon Pharmacy. Following 22 years of practicing at Weldon’s, he left to take a position with American Pharmacy Cooperative Incorporated (APCI) in Bessemer. He was one of the four founders of APCI in 1985 and served on their board of directors from 1985-2001. In 1995, he took the position of Vice-President of Professional Affairs and did everything from public relations to legislative affairs to contracts and bidding. Although he was only on staff there for eight years, this is the position for which he is most known across the state. He was given the opportunity to work with pharmacists interested in opening community pharmacies.

In 2003, he moved to Sylacauga and opened a pharmacy himself with partner and friend, James Hobson. Hobson passed away in 2008 and both of Johnson’s sons eventually came to work with him there, Jacob in 2005 and Jared in 2011. He retired from practicing in 2014 but remains a fixture at Marble City Pharmacy.

His honors include the 1972 Jefferson County Pharmacists Association (JCPA) Student Retail Pharmacy Award; 1972 Auburn Upjohn Achievement Award; 1990 APA Service Award; 1992 Auburn Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Award; 1993 Bowl of Hygeia; 1994 Auburn Distinguished Alumni Award; 2014 Next Generation Pharmacist Civil Leader Award; 2015 McKesson/Healthmart National Pharmacy of the Year Award; 2016 Sylacauga Schools Foundation Volunteer of the Year Award; 2016 Kiwanian of the Year Award; and the 2017 Kiwanis International George Hixon Fellowship Award.

Johnson serves his community as a member of the Kiwanis Club and through his work with the National Reading Buddies Tutoring Program.

“Countless pharmacy owners from across the state will tell you that they wouldn’t have been successful if it hadn’t been for Danny’s help and guidance,” said Jones. “APA is pleased to be able to recognize his work through his induction into the Hall of Fame.”

George Hargreaves
George Hargreaves outside Miller Hall.

George Hargreaves
Rounding out the group is former Harrison School of Pharmacy faculty member George Hargreaves. A native of Lincoln, Nebraska, Hargreaves married Jewel Lucile Hargreaves and received a bachelor of science and a master’s in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of Nebraska.

Hargreaves came to teach at Auburn in 1926 and was practically a one-man show in the early days of Auburn’s pharmacy program while it struggled to become an independent school.

At his retirement in 1973, it was said that he taught pharmacy for a longer period than any other teacher in the state, with 80 percent of Auburn graduates taking one or more courses under him. It was also said that he taught “every subject in the pharmacy curriculum with the exception of dispensing pharmacy”. Although Professor Hargreaves died July 1, 1975 at the age of 72, he left behind an unforgettable memory.

After his death, a scholarship in his memory was established by his wife, Jewel. Since his passing, generations of Auburn pharmacists have graduated without the tutelage of Professor Hargreaves, but they celebrate his legacy every year with the annual Hargreaves Day, a culture-building event for the student pharmacists, graduate students, faculty and staff at HSOP.

The Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame was established in 2015 and acknowledges achievements by those engaged in the profession of pharmacy, whether alive or deceased, and recognizes their outstanding contributions or exemplary service to pharmacy and/or to healthcare. This can be demonstrated through exceptional achievement over the life of their career in pharmacy or an exceptional act during their career, or both.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: July 26, 2018