Harrison School of Pharmacy Hands Out Annual Awards

Dr. Amber Hutchison stands with students after receiving Hargreaves award Dr. Amber Hutchison received the Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award.

May 9, 2019

AUBURN, Alabama – Outstanding Harrison School of Pharmacy students, staff and faculty members were recognized in ceremonies on April 5, May 3 and May 6 as part of the 59th Annual Hargreaves Awards Program.

RELATED: Photos of Award Winners

In all, more than 60 awards were given to more than 100 recipients across four ceremonies. Dr. Amber Hutchison took the top honor, the Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award.

The awards program is coordinated by the HSOP Awards Committee. Serving on the committee are Dr. Sylvia Rogers (Chair), Dr. Lindsey Moseley, Dr. Georgia Fox, Dr. Feng Li, Dr. Anna Solomon, Dr. Kevin Astle, Dr. Li Chen, Dr. Kaitlin Lisenby, Charlotte Cheatham and Melissa Webb. Additionally, graduate student awards were coordinated by Jennifer Johnston and the Office of Graduate Programs.

2019 Award Winners

Student Awards

Cardinal Healthcare Pharmacy Leadership Award
Matt Bailey

Walker Medal Award
Lauren Tepool

McKesson Drug Company Award
Brooke Howard

Merck Awards
Lauren Tepool
Amber Usrey
Jenneca Mahesh

Community-Based Patient Care and Professionalism Awards
P3: Perry Thompson
P2: Olivia McNeal
P1: Luke Hentrich

Pharmacy Practice Experience Quantifi Intervention Award
PPE Team 2:

  • Robin Barron
  • Megan Fonteno
  • Holly Lloyd
  • James Miracle

AlSHP Health System Student Award
Alyssa Osmonson

Excellence in Clinical Communication
Courtney Kindred

Eli Lilly Achievement Award
Samantha Rodriguez

Mylan Excellence Award
Madison Browning

U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award
Kelli Caddell

Walgreens Innovative Community Practice Award
Emily Murray

Milestone OSCEr Award
P4: Carra Powell
P3: Ashley Flowers
P2: Perry Thompson

Professionalism Awards
P1: Lauren McConnell
P2: Jared Edwards
P2: Chance Partlow
P3: Perry Thompson
P4: Melissa West

Rho Chi Award
Greg Taylor

Auburn Pharmacy Alumni Association Legacy Award
Kajal Patel

Excellence in Hospital Practice Award
Morgan Ledbetter

Dr. Byron B. Williams Award
Corderra Seay

Auburn University President’s Award
Lauren Wright

Harrison School of Pharmacy Graduation Marshal.
Meredith Holt

Student Government Association Outstanding Student Award
Jacob Calahan

Student Council Officer Recognition
Ren Aranda (President)
Emily Roper (Vice President-Auburn)
Caitlin Henderson (Vice President-Mobile)
Paden Smith (Secretary)
Hashan Bhim (Treasurer-Auburn)
Amanda Altstatt (Treasurer-Mobile)
James Holland III (Senator)

Pharmacy Student Council Leadership Award
Morgan Wood
Abby Cooke

Faculty/Staff/Community Awards

Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award
Dr. Amber Hutchison

Pharmacy Student Council Advocate Award
Dr. Georgia Fox

Outstanding Teacher Award
Dr. Lindsey Moseley

Friend of Pharmacy Award
The City of Auburn

Outstanding Contribution from Auburn University Colleague
Ms. Karen Spencer

Preceptors of Excellence Awards (Affiliate Faculty)
Auburn-Montgomery: Dr. Rusty Page
Birmingham Tuscaloosa: Dr. Lauren Ward
Columbus: Dr. Amber Elam
Huntsville: Dr. Blake Butler
Mobile/Pensacola:  Dr. Charles DuRant

Preceptors of Excellence Awards (Faculty)
Auburn-Montgomery: Dr. Sarah Cogle
Birmingham Tuscaloosa: Dr. Jessica Starr
Columbus: Dr. Lori Hornsby
Huntsville: Dr. Taylor Steuber
Mobile Pensacola: Dr. Allison Helmer

Preceptor of the Year
Mr. Matt Slocum

Master Preceptor of the Year
Dr. Deanne Tabb

Friend of Experiential Education Award
Dr. Rebecca Cummings

Outstanding Resident Teacher Award
Dr. Krissy Boyle

Faculty Research Awards
Alabama State Employees Insurance Board

  • Kimberly Braxton-Lloyd


  • Rusty Arnold

Alabama Department of Public Health

  • Brent Fox
  • Haley Philippe

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

  • Salisa Westrick

CFD Research Corporation

  • Rusty Arnold
  • Peter Panizzi

Rho Chi Alumni Award
Dr. Brad Wright

Continuing Education Presenter of the Year
Dr. Jeanna Sewell

Outstanding Staff Member Award
Sandra Blackmon

Pinnacle Award
Dr. Lynn Stevenson

Graduate Student Awards

Dean’s Travel Award
Sweilem Al Rihani
Ahmad Almalki
Cassidi Crosby
Joshua Davis
Shahariar Fahim
Tessa Hastings
Lindsey Hohmann
Natalie Hohmann
Nan Huo
Lani Jasper
Ruth Jeminiwa
Chao Li
Ahmed Mishuk
Mohammed Nasrullah
Priyanka Pinky
Nabin Poudel
Sindhu Ramesh
Youssef Mousa

Merriweather Fellowships
Ihab Abdullah
Ruth Jeminiwa
Youssef Mousa
Priyanka Pinky
Sharay Setti

Outstanding Master’s Students
Sindhu Ramesh
Yilue Zhang

Outstanding Ph.D. Students
Sweilem Al Rihani
Manoj Govindarajulu
Mohammed Majrashi
Ahmed Mishuk
Mohammed Nasrullah

Outstanding International Students
Sweilem Al Rihani
Chao Li
Mohammed Majrashi
Yilue Zhang

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant
Shahariar Fahim
Manoj Govindarajulu
Sindhu Ramesh

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Young Scientist Travel Award
Priyanka Pinky

Graduate School Travel Award
Ahmad Almalki
Ruth Jeminiwa
Priyanka Pinky

Graduate Student Council Travel Award
Shahariar Fahim

Division of Organic Chemistry Travel Award for the American Chemistry Society
Mansour Alturki

Center for Clinical and Translational Science Symposium Travel Scholarship
Manoj Govindarajulu
Lindsey Hohmann
Natalie Hohmann
Ruth Jeminiwa

3 Minute Thesis
Thamer Al-Qurashi, 3 Minute Winner and People’s Choice Award Winner

Boshell Research Day
Sweilem Al Rihani, First Place, Poster Presentation

Auburn Student Research Symposium:  Award Winners
Sharay Setti, Best Oral Presentation
Warren Smith, 2nd Place Poster Presentation
Ihab Abdallah, Best Oral Presentation, Pharmacy
Ahmed Alsaqr, Best Poster Presentation, Pharmacy

Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Foundation Young Investigator Award
Manoj Govindarajulu
Priyanka Pinky
Sindhu Ramesh

Outstanding Graduate Student Council Senator Service Award
Lindsey Hohmann

First-Year Experience Mentorship Award
Jenna Bloemer

AACP Walmart Scholarship
Brandy Davis

Center for Neuroscience Initiative Fellowship
Sweilem Al Rihani
Manoj Govindarajulu
Logan Neel
Sharay Setti

Presidential Graduate Research Fellowship
Sayak Chakravarti
Lauren Lucas
Qi Wang
Yi Zhao

American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Research Fellowship
Logan Neel
Sharay Setti
Warren Smith

Cecil Stanford Harrell Fellowship
Charlotte Muse

Scholar with the Center for Clinical and Translational Science Pre-doctoral Clinical/Translational Research Program at UAB
Brandy Davis

Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America Foundation Pre Doctoral Fellowship
Ahmed Mishuk


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The School’s commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn’s overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: April 19, 2019