HSOP Awards 163 Degrees at 2019 Commencement

Dr. Stephen Davis speaks behind the podium at graduation Dr. Stephen Davis, HSOP Class of 2008, gave the commencement address.

May 8, 2019

AUBURN, Alabama – Auburn University’s James I. Harrison School of Pharmacy held its Spring 2019 commencement ceremony on Monday, May 6 at Auburn Arena. The class of 2019 included 147 students receiving the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree. One student received a Master of Science (M.S.) degree, and 15 others received Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees.

RELATED: Video | Program | Photos

“We are extremely proud of the Class of 2019 and look forward to seeing what they accomplish in their careers,” said Dean Richard Hansen. “Auburn University and the Harrison School of Pharmacy are leaders in training the next generation of pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists that will improve health outcomes in the state of Alabama and the world. We are inspired by what our graduates do in their communities every day and we wish them all the best as they take this next step.”

The ceremony included a commencement address from Dr. Stephen Davis, a member of the Class of 2008, while the student address was given by Glady’s Tucker Heard.

Davis, the Director of Health-System Strategy with Shields Health Solutions, encouraged the class to stay positive through trials and tribulations and lead with kindness and a positive attitude.

“Personally, I have always tried to lead by example with a positive attitude and by displaying acts of kindness. I would encourage you all to lead by example as well,” said Davis. “It can just be a simple act of kindness that you can display to someone. Kindness is also contagious.”

Heard, the school’s student body president during the 2017-18 academic year, challenged her classmates to go beyond what is expected and change the world.

“Above all else, as you go out into the world and practice, always remember that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel,” said Heard.

The Class of 2019 included representatives from four foreign countries, including Bangladesh, China, Jordan and Saudi Arabia; and 15 states, including Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin.

As the public pharmacy school of the state of Alabama, the Harrison School of Pharmacy continues educating more Alabama pharmacists than anywhere in the world with 111 of the graduates hailing from the state. Additionally, the vast majority of the graduates are remaining in the state to continue serving the people of Alabama.

2019 Graduates

Master of Science Degree

# Yilue Zhang

Doctor of Philosophy Degrees

Sweilem Baseem Al Rihani
Ahmed Al Saqr
Ahmad Jarallah Almalki
+ Thamer Alqurashi
# Hamad Alrbyawi
~ Madison Bishop
+ Jenna Bloemer
# Ning Cheng
# Tessa Hastings
# Lindsey Anne Hohmann
# Natalie Suzanne Hohmann
# Mohammed Ali A. Majrashi
+ Youssef Mousa
# Mohammed Zahid Nasrullah
~ Md Motiur Rahman

Doctor of Pharmacy Degrees

**Michelle Ford Adams
Kaitlyn Celeste Allen
***Rachel Alayna Allgood
*Raven Symone Ash
Caitlin Elizabeth Autrey
Allison June Bachtle
Alex Jordan Bahr
**Katherine Lindsey Baker
Naseim Ashraf Bedwan
**Priya Pravina Bhatt
Catherine Enterkin Boalch
***Alyssa Marie Booth
Christian Hubbs Bottcher
Amanda Michelle Boyer
Brittany Harrell Brannon
***Lindsey Nicklas Brown
*Tyrome L. Brown, Jr.
Madison Olivia Browning
***Haden T. Bunn
***Lexi Rachelle Burkard
Gary Richard Byars, Jr.
*Kelli Nicole Caddell
Sadie Jane Cancilla
Sarah Millicent Cassady
Monica Kim Hue Cat
Chadwick S. Cate
*Stephen Todd Caton, Jr.
*Gabrielle Nikole Christen
+Blake Alexander Cicheskie
***Jaclyn Alana Connors
*Megan Colleen Coole
*William Cason Daniel
***Jillian Theresa Davis
Richard Wade Deloney
**Cindy Doan
Mason Bradley Drummond
***Carolyn Ann Ellison
Elizabeth Bowen English
Genesee Fernandez
Bailey Brianne Fowler
Rachael Alexandra French
**Stephanie Cox Gardner
Marissa Elaine Goad
Shelby Lynn Griffin
***Abigail Rose Grimm
Alyssa Faye Guilliot
Jonathan Tyler Hale
*Katelyn Allie Hale
Ashton Perry Haley
Joseph William Harris
Wesley O'Neal Harris
*Shyannon Nikoalette Haygood
*Gladys Tucker Heard
+James Craig Heath
*John Michael Herndon
***Kristen Marie Herr
Brandon McKay Hester
Christyn Amber Hicks
***Micaila Lea Hill
***Matthew Leland Holt
***Meredith Lynn Holt
Taylor Louise Hornsby
*Mary Atkins Hunt
Caitlin Anne Irvin
***Danielle Melisa Jackson
Carly Elizabeth Jacoby
**Jacob Charles Johnson
Kiersti Nicole Jones
Sainath Arvind Kamath
Courtney Elizabeth Kindred
***Kelsey Elizabeth Ladd
Sylvie Elise Lauzon
***Shelby MacLauren Lawrence
**Morgan Jade Ledbetter
Elizabeth Lindley
*Laura Emily Louie
Adam Bennett Mack
**Inna Majdalani
+Joshua Manning
Jatoria D. Marshall
**Hayley Rowe McCarron
**Tiffany Simpson McFall
William Joseph McFaull
**Sharmila Michael
Walter Harrison Minger II
**Matthew Shane Montgomery
Patrick Mark Morris, Jr.
**Morgan Kayla Moulton
Matthew Whitney Munn
***Emily Murray
Ajay Visweswaran Nayar
Kristy Limkyungeun Nelms
*Nhan Thanh Nguyen
Christopher Glenn Nixon
Tyler Warren Olsen
***Haley Bennett O'Neal
**Alyssa Jade Osmonson
Jeffrey Joseph Parker
***Kiara KaChaun Parker
Morgan Brittany Pentecost
William Gray Plunkett
**Sarah Elizabeth Potter
***Carra Lynne Powell
**Kela Kalei Pugh
Rohan Srihari Raghuram
Marcelo Javier Ramirez
***Leah Nicole Reeve
*Samantha Nicole Rodriguez
John Benen Russell
**Anne Wyant Saunders
Corderra Deontae Seay
***Morgan Elizabeth Sellars
***Kaci Layne Shuman
Dalton Roy Simmons
**Mary Catherine Simon
*Tanvi Singh
Rana Leigh Singleton
***Alexis Marie Skarupa
Dylan Elliot Skipper
Andrea Marie Smith
***Lauren Lovett Speakman
Lauren Nicole Spearman
Ricarrdo Marscean Spencer
Joshua David Staples
Deidre Monique Tabb
***Rebecca Elizabeth Teal
Jamie Montrese Tillman
***William Ferrell Towers
*Hayes William Turner
***Addison Jane Upton
Melissa Villagrana
Call Jackson Watson
Colton Charles Weaver
**Melissa Diane West
Taylor Nicole Wetzel
David Arnold Whisenant
Joey Dewayne Whisenant
***Christopher Warren Whitman
***Melanie Rebecca Pryor Whitmore
Rebecca Rose Whitmore
Haley Ann Williams
Jonathan G. Williams
Kristen Michele Williamson
***Christopher Scott Wren
***Lauren Elizabeth Wright
Scarlett Virginia Wright
*Byul Ah You




About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The School’s commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn’s overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: April 19, 2019