HSOP Awards 143 Degrees at 2016 Commencement

May 10, 2016

Graduation Central

AUBURN, Ala. – Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy awarded 131 professional doctor of pharmacy degrees during the school’s commencement on Tuesday, May 10.

In addition, six Masters of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences degrees were conferred and six candidates were awarded the Doctor of Philosophy in Pharmaceutical Sciences.

RELATED: Graduation Central | Photo Gallery
MORE: Katherine Fuller Named 2016 Graduation Marshal

The 143-member class included 102 students from Alabama. The remaining students represented four foreign countries (India, China, Saudi Arabia and Thailand) and nine states, including Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee

Eight students in the class are Harrison School of Pharmacy legacies with either their parent, grandparent or sibling holding a degree from the school. Two students can include both of their parents as HSOP alumni.

The commencement address was given by Dr. David Serota, senior vice president, director of research, and senior principal study director at MPI Research in Mattawan, Michigan. Serota is a 1969 graduate of the Harrison School of Pharmacy.

The student address was given by Elise Aucoin, a native of Pierre Part, Louisiana. Aucoin served as president of the HSOP Student Council and has accepted a two-year fellowship with the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Birmingham. She is the first doctor of pharmacy graduate selected to the national Veterans Affairs Quality Scholars Program, a program that develops the next generation of health professionals to improve healthcare through innovations, quality improvement, and patient safety. In addition to quality improvement projects and research, she will also be working to earn a Master of Science in Public Health Degree at UAB.

Selected as the student graduation marshal was Katherine Fuller, a native of Brierfield, Alabama. Fuller has accepted a pharmacy residency at the University of New Mexico Hospital in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Candidates were presented by Dr. George Flowers, dean of the Auburn University Graduate School, and Dr. Lee Evans, dean of the Harrison School of Pharmacy. Hooding was done by Dr. Paul Jungnickel, associate dean of the Harrison School of Pharmacy.

The Oath of a Pharmacist was administered by Joe Dalton (’82), owner of Dalton Pharmacy and pharmacy director at Flowers Hospital in Dothan, Alabama. He is the father of Class of 2016 member Tyler Dalton.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: May 10, 2016