Pharmacy Faculty Earn Prestigious Auburn Award

Earn Prestigious Auburn Award

Oct. 29, 2014

AUBURN UNIVERSITY, Ala. – Three Harrison School of Pharmacy faculty members worked as part of a group that recently won the President’s Outstanding Collaborative Units Award. The group was honored at the Faculty Awards ceremony on Oct. 23. Recognized from HSOP were Dr. Rusty Arnold, Dr. Jay Ramapuram and Dr. David Riese.

“This program is not one project, it is more kind of a theme,” said Arnold. “It is not just pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences, but the engineering and the combining and developing, being able to do the discovery and all the way through the applied science part of it.”

The team of faculty from the College of Agriculture, College of Veterinary Medicine, the Ginn College of Engineering, and the Harrison School of Pharmacy were recognized for the development of a Pharmaceutical Engineering program and the receipt of a GAANN training grant from the United States Department of Education.

Mark Byrne from the Ginn College of Engineering leads the team. Other team members included Allan David (Ginn College of Engineering), Ram Gupta (Ginn College of Engineering), Douglas Martin (College of Veterinary Medicine), Valery Petrenko (College of Veterinary Medicine) and Jacek Wower (College of Agriculture).


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit

Last Updated: March 27, 2017