h1>Harrison School of Pharmacy

Faculty and Staff Directory


Lea-Eilanc Lea Eiland
Associate Department Head
Clinical Professor

Departments: Pharmacy Practice
Meridian, Mississippi
Email: eilanls@auburn.edu

Pharm.D. - Texas, 2001

Lea S. Eiland, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS, FASHP, FPPAG is a Clinical Professor and Associate Department Head of Pharmacy Practice with Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy and a Clinical Professor of Pediatrics with the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus.

Dr. Eiland joined the Auburn faculty in August of 2002. She teaches in the areas of Pediatrics, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, and Infectious Disease. She practiced for 10 years at the Huntsville Hospital Women and Children in the general pediatric inpatient setting. From 2012-14, she practiced in the UAB Health Center Huntsville Pediatric Clinic. She also has experience in the outpatient sickle cell clinic and pediatric ICU. Her interests include infectious disease and neurology.

Dr. Eiland graduated with her Doctor of Pharmacy from The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 2001. She completed an ASHP-accredited pediatric specialty residency at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at Amarillo in 2002. In 2004, Dr. Eiland became a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist and in 2015 she became a Board Certified Pediatric Pharmacy Specialist.

Dr. Eiland received the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Harrison School of Pharmacy in 2016. She was the recipient of the Harrison School of Pharmacy Hargreaves Faculty Mentor Award in 2005 and has received the Preceptor of Excellence award four times. Dr. Eiland was honored with the Merck Pharmacist Achievement Award and the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists Pharmacist of the Year Award in 2008. She participated in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s (AACP) Academic Leadership Fellows Program during the 2008-09 year.

In 2009, she received the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy Leadership Award and The University of Texas College of Pharmacy Distinguished Young Alumnus Award. In 2012, she was awarded Fellow from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and in 2015, she was recognized as Fellow from the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group.

Dr. Eiland is active in several national pharmacy organizations including the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (PPAG), American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Dr. Eiland is a Past President of the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists, past Chair of the ASHP Council on Education and Workforce Development, and past Chair and Director-at-Large of the ASHP Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists Executive Committee. She has served on multiple committees of PPAG, was Vice President of Membership Services, and a former Board of Director member of PPAG. She currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of ASHP.

Dr. Eiland has been an invited speaker and presented her research at national and state pharmacy meetings. She has authored original research articles, review articles, and book chapters related to pediatric pharmacotherapy. Dr. Eiland was the Pediatric Section Editor and then Managing Editor of PharmPrep, ASHP’s NAPLEX® Review and served as an author and Section Editor of ACCP’s Pediatric Pharmacotherapy 1st edition textbook. She is an author and Senior Editor of PPAG’s first textbook, Advanced Pediatric Therapeutics and authored and edited ASHP’s Infectious Disease Pharmacotherapy Self-Assessment. Dr. Eiland received an Auburn Author Award in 2016 from the Auburn University Graduate School and Auburn University Libraries for her textbook publications.

Last Updated: February 27, 2017