Dr. Sophie Li Recipient of 2014 Butz Award

Dr.  Xiaoyu (Sophie) Li has been selected by the Faculty Awards Committee to be the recipient of the 2014 Butz teaching award. 

Congratulations Sophie!



Background information: This annual award is established by Dr. Phillip W.  Bean, who received his collegiate training in mathematics at Auburn  University.  Dr. Butz was a faculty member of the Department of  Mathematics and he passed away in 2012. I have multiple conversations with Dr. Bean and some of the former recipents have met Dr. Bean.

Criterion: The intent of Dr. Phillip W. Bean is for the Butz Award for Excellence in Teaching to be used to recognize and reward an assistant professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics in the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM) for his/her outstanding teaching in undergraduate courses in mathematics.  The Chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, in consultation with the departmental faculty, shall appoint a committee that selects a recipient of the Butz Award. The recipient of the award must be an innovative, challenging teacher who is respected by the faculty and is appreciated by his/her students. Candidates for the award must be an assistant professor for at least one year and remain at the level of assistant professor for the duration of the award.  Recipients of the Butz Award are eligible for consideration in future years provided he/she satisfies all the aforementioned requirements. 

Last updated: 07/03/2014