National Advisory Council

Dr. Thomas Taylor Dr. Tom N. Taylor '60

From the Chairman:

My three-year term as Chairman of the College of Education's National Advisory Council (NAC) will be completed at the annual meeting held on campus on April 25, 2014.  In addition, my term as a member of  the council also ends on that date.  I began serving as a member of the advisory council in the Fall 2006.  It has been my privilege, and a pleasure, to serve on the advisory council for eight years.

During the past year and a half, the Executive Committee of the council, which is composed of the chairs of the four standing committees and the chair of the advisory council, has been working with Dean Betty Lou Whitford to finalize some changes to the NAC.  In this final article that I will write in my role as chairman of the advisory council for the College of Education website, I will describe the major changes that have been made in the organization.

1.  The size of the NAC will be reduced from a maximum of 40 members to approximately 25 members.  Each new member that is selected jointly by the Dean and the Executive Committee, will be invited to serve on the advisory council for a three-year term.  At the end of the three-year period, the member's term may end, or the member may be invited to serve one additional three-year term.

2.  The number of general meetings of the NAC has been reduced from two meetings per year to one annual meeting.  Previously, the advisory council met once during the Fall Semester and once during the Spring Semester.  Now, the advisory council meets annually in the Spring. 

3.  The number of standing committees on the council has been reduced from four to three.  Previously, the council had four standing committees --- Academic Affairs, Internal Relations,  External Relations, and Development.  The Development Committee has been eliminated.  However, a member of the College of Education's Development Leadership Team will now serve as a member of the advisory council, and in that capacity, will serve as a liaison between the two organizations.  The Academic Affairs, Internal Relations, and External Relations Committees will remain as standing committees of the advisory council.  The Academic Affairs Committee focuses on awarding the NAC Faculty Research Mini-Grants each year.  It also encourages the College of Education faculty/staff to utilize the wealth of knowledge and experience of council members in the academic programs of the College.  The Internal Relations Committee focuses on sustaining membership and student outreach, promoting ways for council members to attend and/or participate in College of Education activities, and developing plans for the mini-grant program for student service projects.  The External Relations Committee focuses on alumni awards and special alumni events, and advisory council - hosted campus events to commemorate the Centennial of the College of Education in 2015.

The primary goal of the NAC will remain the same.  The council will continue to support the dean, faculty, and staff in achieving the mission of the College of Education as it relates to excellence in teaching, cutting edge research, and meaningful outreach.

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014

Auburn University College of Education | 3084 Haley Center | Auburn, Alabama 36849-5218
Phone: (334) 844-4446 | Fax: (334) 844-5785 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©