[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium - Faculty Achievement Awards Program Nomination

In October 2010, the Southeastern Conference Presidents and Chancellors established a program to recognize extraordinary accomplishments of faculty at SEC universities. The SEC Academic Consortium’s
Faculty Achievement Awards are meant to honor those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students. To qualify for the award, an individual’s scholarly contribution or discoveries must be such that the faculty member has been acknowledged by colleagues within the discipline nationally or internationally.

The SEC Academic Consortium will present a series of Faculty Achievement Awards during the 2012-13 academic year. One winner from each SEC university will receive a Faculty Achievement Award (with $5,000 honorarium). One Distinguished Professor of the Year Award will be given to the outstanding faculty member in the SEC – chosen from the winners of each university’s Faculty Achievement Award winners. The monetary value of the award will be a total of $20,000 ($15,000 in addition to the individual university award).

Criteria for Selection of a Faculty Member

To be eligible for a Faculty Achievement Award, a faculty member shall:
1.    Be a teacher/scholar at the SEC university;
2.    Have achieved the rank of full professor at the SEC university;
3.    Have a record of extraordinary teaching; and
4.    Have an outstanding record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

How to Apply or Nominate a Faculty Member (the following must be submitted electronically)

  1. An application form completed and signed by the faculty member (Application Form);
  2. A curriculum vitae limited to five pages (excluding scholarly publications);
  3. A list of scholarly publications;
  4. A statement (limited to two, single-spaced pages) from the faculty member regarding the impact of his or her teaching/scholarship.
  5. A letter of support from the applicant/nominee’s Dean.

Auburn University applications will be due by November 15, 2012. Applications will be received electronically by Tammy Mayo  at bushtam@auburn.edu. For further information, please go to the Provost website http://www.auburn.edu/academic/provost or contact Dr. Carl A. Pinkert (on behalf of the Award Review Committee).

Last Updated: Septemer 19, 2012